Skip to main navigation.

Toni Barbaro

Toni Barbaro has been a resident of Bullhead City and Mohave Electric Cooperative member since 1980. She lives in District 3 and was appointed to represent District 3 in June 2015.

Barbaro has achieved the Credentialed Cooperative Director Certificate through course work offered by the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association, a recognized measurement of competency on key current issues and has received her Board Leadership Certificate. Barbaro attained the NRECA Gold Director Certificate in May 2016.

Barbaro has an Associate of Arts Degree and Associate of Applied Science Degree in Nursing and has completed numerous continuing education classes. A registered nurse for over 30 years, Barbaro is retired.

A member of the American Legion Auxiliary, Barbaro also volunteers with Kiwanis.


MEC “Call to Action”—Success Story

Members of Mohave Electric Cooperative responded to MEC’s “Call to Action” initiative and proved that making their voices heard really does work.

In January 2018 the “Call to Action” effort generated more than 6,600 letters from MEC members in support of Arizona SB1412. The legislation which allows Arizona electric cooperatives to continue to support local community programs through assigned capital credits, was introduced in January of this year and passed the Arizona Senate on February 15, 2018 by a vote of 29-0 and also passed in the House of Representatives on March 20, with a vote of 57-0-3 with no dissenting votes, and was signed by Governor Ducey on March 23, 2018.

Several box loads of letters, addressed to Senator Sonny Borrelli, Representative Regina Cobb, and Representative Paul Mosley were hand-delivered to the State Capitol in Phoenix by MEC CEO Tyler Carlson, MEC Board Directors, and statewide electric cooperative representatives in January.

Carlson expressed his appreciation to MEC members, Senator Borrelli and Representative Cobb.

“MEC members understand the importance of keeping this funding local to help the community, and we thank them for writing the letters and adding their voices to ours.”

“Our thanks also go out to Senator Borrelli and Representative Cobb who listened and supported our members and community.  They were with us from the start, and were instrumental in getting this done.”

Carlson explained that assigned capital credits provide funding for many local community programs including The River Fund, and also MEC’s Classroom Grants and Washington DC Youth Tour.



MEC Praises LD5 Legislators for Supporting Cooperatives

(L-R) Mohave Electric Cooperative (MEC) Board of Directors Toni Barbaro, Joe Anderson, CEO Tyler Carlson, Carlos Tejeda, Michael Bartelt, Cindy Christy, and John Nelssen deliver "Call to Action" letters from MEC members and supporters to State Senator Sonny Borrelli and Representative Regina Cobb on Wednesday, January 24, 2018. The total number of letters generated by the campaign to date is 6,609. (photo: GCSECA)











MEC Board of Directors Toni Barbaro and Deborah Johnson (far left and right) join Board President Lyn Opalka in presenting fellow director Michael Bartelt with the Arizona ACRE Membership Recognition for 2017.  Bartelt has been recognized for 10 years of continuous support to the Arizona Action Committee for Rural Electrification.



MEC donation gives Search and Rescue volunteers added power

Click on photo to enlarge
Mohave Electric Cooperative Board Directors (L-R) Deborah Johnson (Dist. 2), Toni Barbaro (Dist. 3) and MEC Board President Lyn Opalka are pictured with Ways and Means Officer Casey Bevando and Captain Sean Borland from the Mohave County Sheriff’s Office Search and Rescue (SAR) Bullhead City Unit, as Borland holds a box of 40 donated power banks. The idea for the donation originated with a pair of MEC employees who are also SAR volunteers. The two recognized a need in the field, where charged batteries for flashlights and radio equipment are SAR essentials; the concept could also extend to cell phones (see inset). The donated power banks from MEC will give each member of the all-volunteer Bullhead City Unit approximately 90 minutes of additional charge on their mobile devices.








Bullhead Area Chamber of Commerce announced Mohave Electric Cooperative as the 2017 Company Chamber Member of the Year. Accepting the award on behalf of the Cooperative (l-r) are MEC Board Directors Cynthia Christy, District 1; Toni Barbaro, District 3; and Carlos Tejeda, District 2.







Board Director Cindy Christy joins Director Joe Anderson as he presents the Gold Director Certificate to fellow Director Toni Barbaro.




US Senator John McCain Visits Bullhead City




US Senator John McCain spent last Friday in Bullhead City where he met with Mohave Electric Cooperative Board members and employees before addressing a crowd at a Bullhead Area Chamber of Commerce luncheon.  Senator McCain spoke with MEC employees and board members about the need for additional transparency and oversight of the Western Area Power Administration, including talking about an amendment he worked on with Senator Flake that would require WAPA to provide more information on their budgeting process to customers.

In addition, McCain discussed the impacts of power plant closures on rural areas, in particular the impact of the closure of the Mohave Generating Station had on the area.  He vowed to continue fighting EPA overreach and in particular the Clean Power Plan and the rules on Waters of the United States that would put federal jurisdiction over every dry sand-wash in the area.


Mohave Electric Cooperative Directors and Chief Executive Officer meet with Arizona Senator Kelli Ward


Mohave Electric Cooperative Directors and Chief Executive Officer met with Arizona Senator Kelli Ward to discuss important issues for Co-op members including EPA rulings and deregulation.

“Legislative visits are an opportunity to share our concerns and ask lawmakers to support policies that make sense and oppose those that are not in the best interest of our members,” said Tyler Carlson, Mohave Electric Chief Executive Officer.




Senator Kelli Ward (second from left) meets with MEC officials (from left) Tyler Carlson, Chief Executive Officer; Deborah Johnson, Director District 2; Toni Barbaro, Director District 3; Carlos Tejeda, Director District 2; and Gordon Ennes, Director District 2.


Barbaro Receives Director Certificate


Board Directors (rear from left to right), Mike Bartelt, John Nelssen and Carlos Tejada present board members Deborah Johnson (front left) and Toni Barbaro with their accredited Credentialed Cooperative Director Certificates. The certificate is a recognized measurement of competency on key current issues attained through course work offered by the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association.



Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo
Co-op Connections Card - Show it and save! Together We Save - Home Smart Hub App - Home